1 Comment

A Talk with a Member of the Tea Party

I know it’s been a while since I’ve blogged and several of you have mentioned it to me and I’m sorry. Given my current schedule I may not be able to make my regular Tuesday deadlines but I’m still here and I’ll still write to ya when I can.

And now onto the good stuff.

I try always to be open minded in my political beliefs, though I have strong feelings about what I think is right and wrong. Yesterday I had the opportunity to talk to a member of the actual, real life Tea Party via facebook. I’m including my side of the conversation here, as I haven’t asked my co-conversant’s permission to reprint her responses. But she was polite in her replies and our conversation was civil, as these conversations should be.

Zena Leigh Logan Sharon, I don’t know any tea partiers personally and I hope it’s okay if I ask you a question I’ve been wondering about. And I am not looking to start a debate, just curious. The tea party was established by the Koch brothers, wealthy oil magnates, who hired people to spread out and create a movement they could label grassroots so they could keep their names in the background. Their goal is to pay less in taxes than they do now, which is a lower percentage than the rest of us pay. And I’m all for fiscal conservatism, which is how I live my life, so I can understand the desire to reign in government spending to prevent increased taxation. The Koch brothers are looking to keep their personal high income and corporate taxes low and do not seem to be looking out for the regular Joe. My question is: Does that worry you at all, that the Koch brothers will get what they want and forsake those who stood up and fought for their ideals? Or is the movement bigger than it’s creators? Thank you.

The Koch Brothers

Sharon replied, saying she was angered that everyone lumped all Tea Partiers in with the ones who behaved badly.

 

On the topic of the Koch brothers backing the Tea Party she said, “Maybe true, maybe not. Is there some back up or is this just more hype from the media.” Aside from the lack of a question mark at the end of her query this prompted my reply in which I sent her two links to articles detailing the Koch brothers involvement in the Tea Party:

Zena Leigh Logan

Thank you for answering, Sharon. I totally agree with you that we can’t label everyone with generalizations based on the groups with which they identify. And the political rhetoric in this country has gotten out of hand with aggression. I’m not personally a fan of several tea party candidates because though they claim to be on the side of God, especially Bachmann and Perry (who claims God told him to run for Pres), all of their political speeches and stated intentions if elected are the opposite of every christian value I’ve ever heard of. It does seem like they want to make sure that their rich backers get all the perks they’re demanding at the expense of the rest of us, particularly the working class, poor and sick, who have somehow become vilified. And while not all Tea Partiers are people who would cheer the notion of an uninsured person being left to die or boo a soldier who fought for their safety and freedom because he’s gay, the things the candidates are saying are stirring up that kind of sentiment and I can’t get behind it at all. As for the Koch Brothers and their backing of the Tea Party, here are two articles that detail their involvement:http://www.nytimes.com/2010/08/29/opinion/29rich.html and http://www.usnews.com/opinion/blogs/Peter-Fenn/2011/02/02/tea-party-funding-koch-brothers-emerge-from-anonymity. The Koch brothers and Rupert Murdoch, the owner of Fox News, terrify me with their ideas and plans for this country because it is blatant raping and pillaging of our resources at the expenses of the American citizens. And Rupert Murdoch isn’t even from this country, he’s just here to profit from us. We’re never going to get everything for nothing and those who are trying to do that will bankrupt us and turn us into a Banana Republic – a nation in which the top tiny percentage live in unbelievable wealth while the rest of the populace lives in abject poverty.

The Koch brothers and Rupert Murdoch have self-interested agendas that go well beyond the interests of those who carry their banners.
Rick “Hang Em High” Perry

Michele Bachmann

And that’s what I had to say about that.
So I’m pretty sure no one is going to persuade me to join the Tea Party. But just as I dislike religious people who try to convert me to their point of view, so too do I dislike people who are steadfast in their belief that their opinion is right and I am determined not to be one of them.
I just find myself wondering who these regular non-millionaire citizens of the United States are who are members of the Tea Party. I don’t think the vast majority of them are crazy zealots.
I think most of them are people who consider themselves strong Christian believers and the Tea Party organizers have tapped into that and exploited it. Religion is a strong identifier and one based on faith rather than logic (that’s not a judgment, just a statement). So when the Tea Party comes forth and says they’re on the same side of God the followers accept them without too much scrutiny. Now I think it’s time to start scrutinizing because their actions and intentions are in direct opposition to the tenets of the religion they’re touting and it reeks of exploitation.
I hear them proclaiming themselves on the side of God and Jesus I can’t find a shred of christian values in their ‘down with the working man/sick people and poor’ hate speech. It really is hate speech.
 I don’t think the people who cheered at the suggestion that an uninsured sick person be left to die are horrible humans who get their thrills from the suffering of others. I think they’ve been swept up in some very harmful and shamefully sadistic rhetoric being put forth by some of the current Republican candidates for President of the United States.
So my stance on this is that the people who comprise the rank and file of the Tea Party may not share my views and I may not share theirs, but as long as they are not of the hateful variety I’m here to listen to their points of view. I want to partake in calm, respectful political discourse and lead by example. You never know when that kind of thing will trickle up to our elected leaders.
None of this stuff from now on.
One comment on “A Talk with a Member of the Tea Party

  1. Wow! Great post 🙂 Not only glad to have the blog back, but to have something to think/talk about…..

    Any zealotry in political discourse automatically discounts that viewpoint, at least a little, for me. If you’re political ideal can’t stand on its own without ties to religious bias… it’s probably not very strong at all.

Leave a Reply

