Leave a comment

It’s February 1. Do I know where my New Year’s resolutions are?

For the first time in years I made a list of goals for 2011 over the holidays. There are 11 of them for 2011 because I am some sort of mathematical genius.

Today is the start of the second month of the year and I thought I’d check in on them and see where I am.

The fitness goal is a common one, maybe one you’ve made for yourself too. If you haven’t made this goal then please enjoy some macaroni and cheese for me.

Over the last three years my fitness level has slipped a bit and my pants got a little bigger to make room for a few visits to the candy bowl at the desk next to mine. Last year I hit the gym in January and was all set to make it my bitch but found out that 40 million other Los Angeles residents thought the gym was a clown car flash mob and tried to squeeze into it for the whole month. So… I stopped going because I find it counterintuitive to stand in line for an hour to march on a treadmill for 20 minutes.

Clown Car

My plan changed and the goal became to keep up my weekly hikes with my girlfriends and to eat less. I did the former and took a heartfelt pass on the latter. This year I avoided the gym in January and have been spending more time hiking (more than just once a week) and doing yoga at home in my non-judgmental living room. But now it’s February and I hear the gyms are ghost towns. So I’m heading back, people!

How can exercise be bad when the view looks like this?

So far that goal is going okay. It could be going better and I could be more diligent but I’m doing okey dokey enough to satisfy the Tiger Mother within me.

Another goal I’ve been brewing in the back of my mind for a while is to be more self sufficient. I want to learn how to sew so I can make my own clothes and I’d like to continue building furniture for my home (I previously detailed the building of my kitchen table in this blog). I have been searching for sewing teachers and lessons and will be acquiring a sewing machine this month. Then look out, Calvin Klein, I’m taking the fashion world by storm. Well, probably just making a little something for myself here and there.

I plan to start sewing classes in mid – late February and am on track to be turning potato sacks into ball gowns by spring. I’ll be sure to post pics on the blog for your amusement.

Who knows what this sort of self sufficiency stuff is going to lead to. I could end up making my own laundry detergent and trying to save all kinds of money. (Full admission – I looked up how to make your own laundry detergent. It looks a bit time consuming but once you make a big batch it’ll last a long time and it turns out it really is very cheap. People say it works better than the store bought stuff too. Hmmmmm…)

So those are two of the goals and how I’m doing with them, which is pretty well so far. I’ll keep checking in because I think that just making the goals is not enough – I have to visit them regularly and make sure that I’m still on track and that I didn’t forget any of them (intentionally or accidentally). A little planning around things like crowded gyms in January is proving to be helpful in accomplishing what I’ve set out to do.

Leave a Reply

