2 Comments

Those Were The Days

Someone just posted the following reminder on facebook: “Live every day as if it were your last – enjoy every moment because you never know when the ride will end.”

I’ve heard it before and I’ll hear it again but today it came at a good time for me. I think that sometimes we all get burned out with whatever we are doing regularly. It could be our jobs, our hobbies, anything.

This week I’m feeling a little bit ‘over it’ as my teenage niece says. (Wow, I just quoted the younger generation. Now I’m feeling old. Gulp!) But when I read that post about enjoying every moment I remembered that there are things I really enjoy about what I do and I take great pride in my moments of success and if, or when, I move on to something else those moments are something I will remember with fondness and a little sadness that I am not doing that anymore.

I’ve been there before. I didn’t feel like restaurant management was my calling and there were aspects to it that weren’t the highlights of my life but I enjoyed interacting with the customers and having the responsibility of making sure the restaurant was running well. So, in essence, I guess – I liked doing a good job. I didn’t think about it before I started writing this blog but I guess that’s the through line in my jobs, whether I like them or not. I feel proud of doing a good job.

So when I read the reminder to enjoy every moment my mind goes to these things that I take pleasure in at work and in every aspect of my life and I remember to focus on the good parts of it and file them away in my memory for those days when I’m not doing this anymore and I feel like getting nostalgic.

Then I can look back and think, “Those were the days.” Hopefully I’ll have a long enough life that these days will become the good old days. But either way I’ll enjoy this moment like it could be my last.

PS – This is not how I’d like to spend my last moments, though, just so you know. I mean, if I get to have my way – I want to die doing something sexy and fun instead of reminiscing on the moments I’m reminding myself to enjoy. Just saying.

2 comments on “Those Were The Days

  1. :). Have you read Eckhart Tolle’s “The Power of Now?” Enjoy the present moment!

  2. Very well put Zena. And a philosophy that I think your Grandpa holds near to him. So often people get themselves in a knot worrying they won’t be successful about where they go or what they do in life. The defining reflective questions should be are you happy and satisfied with who you are, and did you make a difference in somebody’s life.
    In our view you certainly already hold that honour and achievement.

Leave a Reply

