3 Comments

My New Life

In the past year my life has changed a lot. I have become a text fiend, I read fewer books (except while doing cardio at the gym) and I get most of my news from Facebook and Twitter.

logo_facebooktwitter-logo

At this time a year ago I didn’t know what Twitter was. I was putting in the long hours in post production on Battleground Earth: Ludacris vs. Tommy Lee, moving into a new apartment and adopting 2 of the cutest kittens that ever existed.

Battleground Earth: Ludacris vs. Tommy Lee

Battleground Earth: Ludacris vs. Tommy Lee

Button and Bing Bing cuddling when they were babies

Button and Bing Bing cuddling when they were babies

This year I’m working on The Real Housewives of Orange County, I’m very settled in my home and my kitties are all grown up, but they’re still a pair of super cute cats.

Real Housewives of Orange County

Real Housewives of Orange County

Bing Bing now

Bing Bing now

Button now

Button now

The biggest change of all is that I get most of my news from Facebook and Twitter. That’s where I first heard that Michael Jackson died. Of course, that’s also where I first heard that Jeff Goldblum died. So I’ve learned to take all news I get through those social sources with a grain of salt.

R.I.P. Michael

R.I.P. Michael

Viva le Jeff

Viva le Jeff

I haven’t decided how I really feel about this new development. Of course, given how busy I am and the fact that I don’t read actual newspapers, I suppose that at the very least I’m better informed than I would be otherwise. Now, if I could only make some friends who post news about world events beyond the Iran protests.

iran-protests-supporters-005

There was a time when I trusted Jon Stewart to tell me what was going on in the world, or at least in the U.S. of A. No more. I haven’t even heard from him in about a year. I’d love to check back in with him but its all I can do to try and keep up with the TV I DVR already.

jon_stewart

One other way I’ve changed in the last year is that, thanks to Facebook and Twitter, I now know what people I’m unable to speak to or see on a regular basis are doing. That includes far-flung family members and people I haven’t seen since high school. This is a wonderful thing. Though I don’t need a minute by minute recounting of everyone’s daily routine I do enjoy being able to keep up with them and them with me.

I guess that if I break it down, I really think that this is a great way to stay in touch and it beats the alternative, which is to not keep up with all these wonderful people I really care about.

As technology marches on we may lament the changes it brings but along with all the negatives there are positives, if we are willing to let our curmudgeon sides rest (“In my day…”) and embrace the possibilities. Or get a newspaper subscription. I think Facebook is cheaper and quicker. Plus, the newspaper will never let me know how many cups of coffee you had before tackling your day. Me? I had 2.

3 comments on “My New Life

  1. *Twitter was how Barack broke the news he was going to be the candidate. It was sooo much fun during the presidential debates, Twitter and live TV the next big thing. On Jeff you should have called Jessica they are neighbors. Good post! 😉

  2. i hated twitter… not my thing. But I have come to terms that I am addicted to facebook. I love reading about the humdrum things people do in a day. It makes me feel like a part of their world even when I can’t really be.

  3. I just love your blog. I have to admit that facebook and twitter are very addicting. I wonder what people did in the days before computers…a lot of ass scratching…

Leave a Reply

