1 Comment

A Blast from My Past

I’m not sure what put the notion in my noggin, but I woke up this morning and knew I had to make my blog about a character I used to draw when I was a kid; a lawyer named Snakey. The thing about this little guy is that he’s kept recurring throughout my life and I’m not sure why. I don’t even know why I had to blog about him today when I had a perfectly good blog ready to go.

He started out as an idea for a children’s book when I was probably 7 or 8 years old. Because who better to write a kids’ book than someone in the trenches living it? But then I discovered comic strips and I turned my little novelizations into 3 panel snippets of outrageously funny pre-pre-pre tween humor. I’d occasionally draw Snakey comics until I was about 13 or 14 years old.

Unfortunately I don’t have any of those original drawings, I don’t even know if they exist. I got up early this morning and drew recreations of them from memory.

Snakey was always drawn from the side for 2 reasons: 1) He was always on the go, heading off to do something, and 2) I lacked the ability to draw him straight on.

Snakey was always drawn from the side for 2 reasons: 1) He was always on the go, heading off to do something, and 2) I lacked the ability to draw him straight on.

Today I find it amusing that of all the animals I knew existed in the animal kingdom I was culturally aware enough at 7 years old to make my lawyer character a snake.

The thing about Snakey, though, was that he was a very good lawyer. He was a true advocate, always doing everything he could to help his fellow Earth dwellers. He was kind and generous and even though this sometimes landed him in hot water he never got upset about it. Perhaps that juxtaposition of snake/lawyer stereotype with his unconventional altruism is part of where the comedy lay in my comic. I honestly can’t remember but I’d like to think I was just that advanced as a kid. So let’s say that was where the humor came from, okay?

Snakey had a good friend by the name of Mothy.

Mothy001

Mothy was a very sweet, naive and trusting Moth who yearned to be a star (because moths are attracted to bright lights). Sometimes Snakey would bail Mothy out of some sort of shenanigan but often they’d just have adventures.

I think there were some other characters who recurred but I can’t remember them now, which is frustrating.

The point was that animals from all walks of life, the white collar lawyers and the creative, high flying free spirits, could get along and be best friends without problems.

I was so laughably, cracked-in-the-head naive! But the strange thing is that I’ve never lost that fundamental belief at my core – that everyone can get along, and that those in lucrative powerful positions might be in them only to do good and make life better for others. That can make life a little frustrating at times, believe me. And now that I’m too old to believe in such fairy tale notions its even worse because I can’t talk about it or people think I’m sorta slow.

Maybe I got this bee in my bonnet about talking about Snakey today because of all the things that are happening in the world around us – the election highjacking and the killings in Iran, the failure of our economy and more. Maybe part of me thinks it’s time to bring him back. You know, to be the change I want to see in the world.

Or maybe I was just dreaming of bugs and snakes last night.

One comment on “A Blast from My Past

  1. What is it about kids putting a “y” at the end of animal names and somehow that makes a name. It’s universal. I had a stuffed raccoon when I was young. His name? Racoony. Obviously.

    Snakey and Mothy look awesome! You should do a comic strip!

Leave a Reply

