2 Comments

Oh, right. It’s the journey, not the destination.

I recently took advantage of a fantastic organization called The Actors’ Fund. Despite its name its not just for actors, its for anyone who works in any of the entertainment industry unions. They offer all kinds of great assistance, career counseling and classes on things like job searching, resume writing and interviewing, and all for free.

Though I have a job now I am not in a ‘sideline career’ (their term, much better than ‘day job’) that I want to stay in long-term, so I am grateful that they exist.

I’ve been exploring all they have to offer and while in their job searching class (which was genius and intuitive and yet I don’t think most people know how to do these simple things to help them find jobs) we all got to talking about our personal situations.  And that’s when I realized something:

I was in a room full of actors who were talented and who had impressive acting resumes and yet they were waiting tables and struggling to get by. These weren’t young 20-something upstarts but people in their 30s and 40s and beyond. And I started thinking about how, even though I haven’t achieved all of my goals or gotten to the place I’d imagined I would be, I have accomplished a lot and I’m in a much better situation then many of my peers.

Me with a new outlook

Me with a new outlook

I set out several years ago to change my life. I quit a horrific waitressing job and vowed that I would never do that kind of work again. Despite some tough times I’ve managed not to wait tables and I’ve been building a respectable career in reality TV. I’ve also done many other things that didn’t seem like big deals to me until I sat in that room with great people, any one or all of whom could be big stars if things had just gone a little differently.

That experience reminded me to look at what I do have and what I have done rather than focusing on the negative – what I don’t have (yet). So with that in mind I started thinking that if I was focused on what I’ve accomplished I’d be able to see ways to build on those things and increase the success I do have. And that’s what I’m going to do. I’ll keep ya posted!

It was great to be reminded that it really is about the journey and not the destination.

2 comments on “Oh, right. It’s the journey, not the destination.

  1. Back in 2002, I remember my brother telling me that I just had to find my niche. I found my niche by producing television. It wasn’t until I worked for the Man Show in 2003 that one day a light bulb went off in my head. I followed my boss around everywhere while I was an assistant for the Executive Producer. I loved what he did! Ever since I have known that that was it for me! Creator and EP. While I have not gotten to the EP status, I don’t think it will be far off. But really we need to re-define success. Its not what society thinks is successful, its what we as individuals feel is successful for ourselves! We have both come a long way and are constantly re-inventing ourselves while still continuing to do what we love!

    xoxo Nicole

  2. I think that’s great, Nicole. I think you’ll be an EP imminently. I think its wonderful when you find something that you love and that fulfills you and then you are able to make a living doing it. 🙂
    You’re right about needing to redefine success. We are living by someone else’s arbitrary definitions.

Leave a Reply

